Lands end trail, mosaic stairs, gardens and new people

Tuesday 11 July:

Urggggg – I’m tired. The girl above me had her alarm going on from 5 in the morning and she kept hitting snooze which meant every time I started drifting off the alarm would come on. By 8 I can’t stand it so I get up and ready before the girl with the alarm. 

I have breakfast with the person I met yesterday and someone else, look at my planned out day and  get going. I start off going to Lands End Trail which supposedly is meant to have a great view of the bridge – I didn’t see anything as it was super cloudy. I walked down to Miles Beach, and then continued to the trail going past boards with stories of boat wrecks that happened here because of the clouds. I continue walking until I reach the Sutro baths where I stay for a while. It is pretty cool but not the most exciting.

I then bus and walk up a steep road to get to the 16 Avenue tiled stairs (mosaic). The whole thing – the stairs and plants around the stairs were so gorgeous. I start walking up the stairs super impressed with myself that it was easy, clearly I’ve become fitter from all my walking around until I am 2/3 done and I start huffing and puffing up the stairs. I reach the top and see the view. Walking up the beautifully designed stairs that were made by the neighborhood was worth it.

I then walk through the Golden Gate Park to the San Francisco Botanical garden which was free as it was the second Tuesday of the month. The garden was beautiful and had plants from different countries in different sections – it was so green and luscious, filled with flowers, lakes, bridges and more. I had my lunch there and then went off the Haight Ashbury which is a hippie town. I went into some stores and enjoyed the atmosphere. 

I tried to go on the cable cars but you needed cash which I didn’t have or you could book a ticket via an app which wouldn’t allow me to book as my postal code is different to the American one and when trying an American one it knew I wasn’t from there.

I arrived back at the hostel and met a new roommate and then went to an activity the hostel was offering. We went out to an Italian restaurant and I met some new people which I talked to the entire time and actually we left the supper early to go back to the hostel and talked some more as it was freezing outside. The thing about the cold is that apparently the weather we were experiencing is the typical San Francisco summer weather which is crazy – I don’t like it at all.

I then went to bed.

Goodnight

XOXO

Yael

Leave a comment