THE Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 33 along with so much more

Monday 10 June

I wake up, quickly get dressed and ready and rush to the station. I ask the women working there if anything has been reported. Nothing. The truth sinks in. I have lost my friends artwork that she spent hours on. I look around the station devastated. I feel terrible.

I go back to the hostel, eat breakfast and get going to my new hostel which I was going to be staying at for the rest of my time here. I get to the hostel and drop my bags off as checking in time is later in the day. I start off going to the Filbert street stairs and walk up all of them, going through peoples gardens and get to the Coit Tower which I didn’t even know was a thing nor knew the Filbert stairs led to that. At the Coit Tower there was a stunning view of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge. I then walked to the Ferry Building along Pier 33. I went all the way to Oracle park where professional basketball is played (the Giants).

I accidentally went back into the neighborhood Tenderloin (the dangerous area), I must not have planned my routes for the days in San Francisco well enough. There I tried to see the Illuminated SF which for some reason I couldn’t find, so I walked past the City Hall and then went on my way to the Wave Organ. The Wave Organ is a structure by the sea that has concrete hollow bend tube like things that allows the sound of the waves to go out and you can hear them. It was really cool.

I made my way to the Presidio Tunnle Tops which is a whole area on top of a tunnel full of greenery – there is a kids park, a place to have a barbecue braai. It has a beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the sea. It’s a great idea. I then walked along the path to the Golden Gate Bridge Viewpoint. The walk there had probably one of the best angles of the bridge and it was very busy which made it fun. I got to the bridge and walked halfway and then decided to turn around as there was a cycling lane and walking lane and because it was so crowded it was doomed there was going to be an accident. 

I arrive back at the hostel, get an introduction and go to my room. There I meet a wonderful person who is from France and we chat and then I go to bed exhausted.

Goodnight

XOXO

Yael

Leave a comment